Recent Searches

Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon7 hours 45 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more


Journey along the romantic Rhine on a half- or full-day tour from Frankfurt and take in the UNESCO-listed wonders of the Rhine Valley. Set sail along the Rhine River on a traditional steamer and cruise past sweeping vineyards, medieval towns and mountaintop castles. Jump off to explore historic Rudesheim, see the landmark Loreley Rock (full-day trip only) and indulge in wine tasting, then tuck into a delicious lunch (full-day trip) or dinner (half-day trip) by the riverside.
  • Travel to the Rhine Valley by luxury air-conditioned coach
  • Cruise through the UNESCO-listed Rhine Valley on a steamer boat
  • Sample wines from the Rhine Valley region
  • Enjoy lunch or dinner at a riverside restaurant
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned bus
Professional guide
Lunch (full-day trip) or dinner (half-day trip)
Wine tasting
Boat ride
Food and drinks, unless specified
Wiesenhüttenpl. 38 , Wiesenhüttenpl. 38, 60329 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Departure is at 11:15 am for the Full Day Tour at the bus stop in front of Hotel Le Meridien, Wiesenhuettenplatz 38 in Frankfurt

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 2 days of travel. In this case confirmation will be received within 48 hours, subject to availability
  • Please note that in winter season we do charter boat trips, when regular cruise lines do not operate. On few occasions, i. e. low waters etc. we may visit a castle instead.
  • Audioguide in several languages (only on the boat) available on request
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Infants and children must sit in a child seat, which means they need a separate seat, no matter which age (legal regulation)
  • We can only carry foldable wheelchairs with us / The clients needs to walk at least a few steps to get on the bus
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ETS-Frankfurt
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise.
What is the policy on sanitization during Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise.
What is the social distancing policy during Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "Drinks and dessert are NOT included and you have to pay." See review
  • "Avoid this place any cost even if it is included in the tour." See review


514 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 514 reviews
Not Worth the Price
, May 2022
Unfortunately, all of the previous reviews are correct. I decided to give this tour a try even though the reviews weren't the best. The tour guides were actually very friendly and very informative and they made the tour somewhat barrable. The gondola ride was an extra 6 Euros and was worth doing. It had nice views going down to the river and ended in the little town. We then walked through the town where the guides again were very informative of all of our questions and showed us interesting architecture. We then got lunch at the restaurant where the food was decent but the restaurant was very tacky and had a lot going on. Everything besides the meal does cost extra (which isn't a big deal) just be prepared for that. After lunch we took a boat ride which is more of a ferry to different docks along the river. The boat ride was probably the most disappointing portion of the tour. You are on the boat with about 100 other passengers and we essentially just stopped at 3 docking stations multiple times. We saw 4-5 castles and there was no one around to tell us anything about what we were seeing. It was a beautiful sunny day and the view was great but I learned nothing about the history of anything along the river which was the main reason I went on the tour. After the boat we went back the restaurant where we did the "wine tasting". Again the guides were great in telling us about the different wines, where they are made, what makes them good/different but the sample was less than a sip. Literally a splash in a thimble sized cup. I'm not a big wine drinker but I know I need a full sip or two in order to get the full taste/experience of the wine. We finished the tour at a monument that overlooked the river and the guides did great at telling us the history and why its there. Overall the tour was a big disappointment from what I was expecting, especially for paying the amount that they charge. If you want to see the Rhine River, I would not recommend going on this tour. You would get the same experience if you were to go there yourself. Viator has other tours that are a bit more expensive and maybe those will give you a true tour experience.
1 traveler found this review helpful
On the day itself, driver...
, Nov 2021
On the day itself, driver turns up n says tour is cancelled n wouldn't be charged, i sent a msg to viator but no reply Today, I got my credit card bill n there are charges! I'm now sending again my request for a refund
1 traveler found this review helpful
The lift ride down the...
, Oct 2021
The lift ride down the mountain to the Rhine River bank and then having a delicious lunch was wonderful. Then to be topped off with a beautiful Rhine cruise.
Not worth the price but there is not much to choose from for trips to the Rhine from Frankfurt
, Oct 2021
The drive out to the Rhine was good. However, as mentioned in the other reviews, you are taken to a restaurant that is overpriced. Also the wine tasting is in the back room of the restaurant and not at a winery. The tasting is four thimble glasses and while we did not expect full glasses, we expected it to be a tasting and not a sip. The restaurant is also not what you would expect. It is crowded with memorabilia all over the place. The cruise on the Rhine is like a ferry ride - you pass about three castles and otherwise spend most of your time going in and out of ports on the river. The view is also beautiful. However, for what you get, the trip is overpriced. It is also not a full day - it begins at 11:30am.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Great cruise weather dependent
, Oct 2021
Did not make cruise....rained too notification. Needed to cancel. Appreciate a refund. Thank you .
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear Viator Team, we cannot identify the customer, as we have no full name. Whatever it is: Germany has a moderate continental climate, a bit rain in autumn is absolutely usual. More important: we had this day sunshine in the valley and no rain !! Our staff has confirmed this, our customers could confirm this, the official weather report has the same contence. Nobody was missing on the boat trip, all participants on board. You should ask this lady, how she made her trip back to would have been a complicated 1,5 hours ride by public transport.... There was no reason whatsoever to cancel the trip. It was a lovely day and everybody happy. Refund herewith strictly denied, there have not been any circumstances which would not have allowed to operate the tour or the very part of the tour by ship. Strange complaint!!! Best regards / Wolfgang
Not, a full day, Rhine Tour
, Sep 2020
The so-called full day Rhône tour is misleading. It is a 75minute boat trip along a section of the Rhine sandwiched between several hours of minibus rides between Other attractions in the hills above locations on that section of the Rhine. Recommend, instead, take the train to Rüdesheim and take the boat your self. Much cheaper but no up-valley excursions.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Please take note the tour title is "Rhine Valley Trip from Frankfurt including Rhine River Cruise" not "Full Day Rhine Valley Cruise". It is clearly stated on Viator website what the tour is about and that it is not only a River Cruise. It is a trip to see the Rhine Valley. Included beside the Rhine River Cruise is lunch in a restaurant and a little wine tasting. The Rhine Valley is not located in Frankfurt. We need to drive about 50 minutes to get there and another 50 minutes to get back to Frankfurt. For all this it is a very good price. And the clients had one of the best tourguides who knows the Rhine Valley as his own pocket. This tourguide always explains so many facts of the Rhine Valley to the clients which they won't have when they do this trip on their own. Kind regards ETS Greenline Tours
Rhine River cruise
, Aug 2020
Peter was a great host, we had an amazing time learning about the culture and seeing the beautiful castles along the route.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Loved it
, Mar 2020
We loved it. The tour guide, Michael, was exceptional, full of jokes and information. He did his best to make sure our experience was super worth it. We had a few lovely stops on the way. I loved the restaurant decor (though the hostess was a little off I am guessing she's had some difficult clients in the past lol) and the wine tasting information was interesting. Never knew about ice wine. The river cruise was bliss, and I was very impressed with what they serve at the bar. Of course there was quite a bit of driving but I love just staring at the countryside so no complaints. We had a smaller than usual group on our tour as we were there in off season, and we missed out on a few things that are only available after March but definitely worth it
Rhine Boat Tour
, Feb 2020
Decent tour but be aware of additional costs. Tour guide should leave his bitter divorce stories at home. Good introduction to the Rhine valley.
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Nov 2019
Nice trip although the bus trip a little long staff good and very helpful. Quite interesting Commentary during the bus and boat ride
1 traveler found this review helpful
Good trip, but poor lunch
, Nov 2019
I liked the trip but the lunch included in price was just one dish, we paid for drinks and dessert. Cruise was nice. I can recommend this trip but it could be cheaper for this range of activities. But it was nice that we had a small group
Lovely river tour
, Nov 2019
Enjoyed this very much, tour guide was great. Many magnificent castles! Even enjoyed a glass of wine on the boat. A wonderful day!
1 traveler found this review helpful
Rhine Valley Trip including river cruise
, Oct 2019
Very disappointed with Driver and his attitude. He took us to a restaurant for lunch where they would NOT open a bottle of fresh mineral water - even when we offered to pay for it, Instead they provided a glass of stale water which they claimed to be ‘fresh’ without the evidence.So when we produced our own they would NOT allow us to open it. The Driver took their side and was forcing us to take the glass of water they served and which they did NOT open and pour from a bottle in front of us. This scenario made us feel very, very embarrassed. I refused to be bullied by the Driver and the restaurant and eventually after making insulting and hurtful remarks we were allowed to take a few sips of our own small bottle of water. We have NEVER come across such behaviour.
Tacky and unnecessarily dragged out
, Sep 2019
To be on a boat for 90 minutes we had to endure 8 hours of nonsense. The lunch on the so-called river side restaurant was a joke. 40 people crammed into a small room with creepy decorations. The food was not fit for my dog. Deep fried tough turkey or two spoonful of rice and veggie topped with tomato soup. Then there were the stops at some statue and so-called shopping town where there was nothing but trinkets. The wine tasting was the “highlight” of the trip. You’d thought it would be a stop at one of the numerous vineyards along the Rhine river, but no we were back to the creepy restraint. This time the room we were crammed into was even smaller. My friend and I didn’t bother to go in because there were no seats left. The wine itself was literarily s few sips in thumb sized “glasses”?-if we could call that use glasses. On the way back to the city center we were compelled to detour to the airport hotel because they needed to drop a few customers off, that detour was at least 39 minutes. For the price we paid, we could have hired a car and went cruising down the river, the whole process should not have taken more than 4 hours.
Very nice with room for improvement
Tommy B
, Sep 2019
The ride was nice, the driver and guide was very friendly and gave some interesting information during the drive. The ski lift down to the river was one of the highlights for me... I highly recommend this option. The lunch was... Fair. A small piece of turkey schnitzel, a small bit of sauerkraut, and... Fries? Really? Seems cheap on their part. The waitress was not very friendly at all. The cruise itsself was awesome. Amazing beautiful views of the valley and many castles, as well as the loralei rock. After the cruise is a wine tasting. Again... I get that they dont want to spend much money on your wine and it's just a tasting... But you dont even get enough to get a real taste or experience of the wine. Overall i would recommend the trip and i enjoyed myself very much. And the pictures i took are priceless.
, Sep 2019
My only down side would be when you are having lunch was the charge for a wine or beer it is written on voucher but I feel more mention would be helpful quite a few people in our group were not aware
A bit disappointing
, Sep 2019
Good guide. Very tacky restaurant with very unfriendly staff. Had to pay for dessert --cash only. Food terrible. Taken back to same place for wine tasting. No seats on boat for cruise for quite some time . Waiting to see Lorelei rock, music playing announcement in German. Missed it completely. Tips are supposed to be anon, but guide brought a box around the bus and stood over me waiting for me to get money out of bag. This made me extremely uncomfortable and ruined the trip.
Rhine valley
, Sep 2019
The guide, Michael, was informative but there were some disappointing things. We paid the additional for the chair lift ride but there weren't any sights to see other than trees. The lunch was good but had to pay for dessert. Didn't know until they came around for money. The real kicker was when the guide came around with a tip box and stood over you waiting for money. I have never experienced this type of rudeness on a tour. Usually they stand outside the bus and you don't feel pressured to give. Then we heard him tell the bus driver, we got over $200.00 to split. How tacky can you be.
1 traveler found this review helpful
outdated itinerary. Only thing worth it is the ferry ride and guide
, Sep 2019
Sadly some of the negative reviews about this tour is quite true. We chose to do this tour because we didn't know the route ourselves to navigate the boat schedule and drive routes along the Rhine river. The pick-up from the Frankfurt am Main city center was very convenient. The tour guide was very personable. They take you to a monument in Rudesheim up a hill to take in the panoramic view of the Mainz river, they give you the option to take this ski-lift down to the river valley from there for an additional 5.5 euros per person, which I would highly recommend. The views are spectacular. The lunch - as per the horrible reviews - is very accurate. A cheap small piece of pork schnitzel and fries on the side. Drinks and dessert are NOT included and you have to pay. It's a pretty bad lunch. Then the ferry ride down the Rhine is super nice. takes 40 mins, then they take you back to Rudesheim to the same place you had lunch to do a wine tasting.. but the wine tasting is pretty sub-par....they serve you 4 types of local wines in what can only be called a plastic cough syrup cups. And tasting means you get one table spoon of wine to slurp back in those awful cups. It didn't do the wine any justice (which aren't cheap wines either) but this is probably the worst wine tasting experience I've had. Then they give you some free time to roam around a town before being driven back to Frankfurt. It's not terrible if it's your first time but honestly.. think they need to upgrade/update the itinerary as it's quite a routined and lacks much excitement.
Expensive and disappointing
, Aug 2019
We paid $320 Australian for 2 for this tour and it was poor value. the lunch was very average and just one course and it was a small veal schnitzel, plain chips which tasted like frozen chips and about half a lettuce leaf with a quarter of tomato! Nothing else!!! The other choice was rice and boiled vegetables. Terrible quality and not good enough for what was paid. We were told by a gruff waiter we were not allowed to order a dessert because there was no time. The cruise boat was packed when we got on and there was no chance of a chair out the front. We expected a boat dedicated to our cruise and we were left wondering if we had been put onto a public ferry as there were people exiting at various stops, only one other tour group that i saw. The waiter on the cruise was so rude, I was standing near a table, not blocking the way, waiting for my husband. He said to me abruptly you need to move, you are in the way, sit down :-( Then we ordered desserts and coffee from the bar and went to sit in the open tables and chairs area only to be told by the same waiter "you didn't order from me, you can't sit here, sit over there" and we had to sit on a table on the side of the boat next to the bar, meaning we could only see out one side of the ship. Oh and when we ordered the desserts i asked if i could just have icecream with sauce and the barman tut tutted loudly, rolled his eyes and sighed and walked off. We didn't know if he'd walked off or gone to the kitchen to ask if it were possible. Such terrible service (not uncommon sadly for Germany in our experience during our visit). In addition, after the cruise the promised time to explore Rudesheim at leisure was reduced to being dropped off at 2 side by side tourist souvenir shops . The tour guide was nice and accommodating of Spanish guests who joined the English speaking tour and his suggestion to ride the chairlift down to the restaurant was a good one, it was fantastic. It was also very hard to hear the commentary (very limited commentary) from many parts of the boat. When we reached the Lorelei they just started playing presumably a song about the Lorelei and then spoke about it in German, eventually after we had passed the rock they spoke in English We spent a lot of money hoping for a really lovely experience and we, along with many others on the trip, felt we had been misled about the cruise experience and it was very overpriced and disappointing. My advice DO NOT TAKE THIS TRIP, poor quality

Explore Similar Things to Do