Recent Searches
Clear

Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train

|
Badge of Excellence
|
München, Germany
Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Gain insight into the Holocaust of World War II on this half-day tour of Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site from Munich. Travel by train and bus to the memorial site, and take a guided tour of the compound, a place of memorial and education dedicated to the thousands who were imprisoned and lost their lives there between 1933 and 1945. Learn how Dachau provided a model for all Nazi camps, and see the exhibitions and memorials, together with the reconstructed barracks and cells, as your guide provides illuminating, informative and sensitive commentary.
  • Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site tour from Munich
  • Tour the exhibition center and former compound with a professional guide
  • Learn about Dachau's history at the exhibition center
  • See the camp gate and reconstructed barracks, cells, guard houses and other buildings
  • Pay your respects at the international and religious memorials
  • Round-trip travel to Dachau by local train and bus included

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Deepen your understanding of Dachau Concentration Camp by visiting with a guide.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Return transportation between Munich and the Memorial site on local train and bus
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Dachauer Str. 4 , Dachauer Str. 4, 80335 München, Germany

You find our office and meeting point at : Dachauer Straße 4 , 80335 Munich Please come and meet us inside this location 20 min prior to departure time. A valid covid test / or vaccination certificate is required to enter the Dachau Memorial Site.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please note that in the Memorial there are no refreshments available and visitors should bring their own
  • Please note: the Dachau Memorial Site does not permit children under 14 to attend this tour.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Radius Tours GmbH
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Have walking shoes and umbrella and water and prepare for 6 hour walking," See review
  • "Don’t miss the path behind the crematorium and the memorial room for Holocaust victims." See review
  • "Dachau is a must for all history buffs but don’t expect to see much of the original camp." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
2,785 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 2,785 reviews
star-5
Must see in Munich
David_C
, May 2022
Educational and with the trip. Fascinating to visit a place where so much suffering occurred. The tour company and guide were very professional and knowledgeable.
star-4
Do Dacau with a guide; so much more meaningful
David_B
, May 2022
This is a must tour for anyone wanting background info to sharpen the experience of this camp. Nicola was a superb leader - keeping all of us together without feeling herded; and her insights were very interesting. It was a hot day and she managed to find shade for us to gather/listen to her. This is a 'heavy' topic; a somber site; a day I will always remember. Sign up for this tour if you're looking for more than a history book glance at these horrific events
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the review David. We are glad to read our guide Nicola looked after you all in spite of the hot day. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-5
Somber Reality
Mari_I
, May 2022
A somber tour based on sad history. The guide was knowledgeable, respectful, helpful. He provided directions for travel, thoughtfully guided us through the camp honoring the lives lost and acknowledging the atrocities that took place there. Information was fact based, unbiased, and considerate of the encamped.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you for providing your feedback and for the nice review of our Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich.
star-5
May was a great guide....
Larry_B
, May 2022
May was a great guide. Very informative. Would recommend very highly. Thanks, and will certainly go on another. In fact, have booked two more. Thanks again.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hey Larry. Thank you for the great review and recommendation. Thanks also for putting your trust in Radius Tours.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Never forget!
Jane_W
, May 2022
A must see your when visiting Munich. Jason was an excellent tour guide, describing the horrors and atrocities of Dachau in a sensitive and respectful way. He was very passionate about the
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Jane, thank you for your review of our Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour. We are glad to read you thought our guide Jason was excellent. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-2
Be warned
Dawn_M
, May 2022
The location itself was very important but our tour guide walked so fast it distracted from the experience. Not a warm friendly experience at all and considering how heavy the topic is it seemed like unnecessary discomfort and stress. And I am in shape. I can only imagine what it would be like for someone with mobility issues. Be warned, pick something different if you want a normal pace to take it all in.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Dawn, thank you very much for your honest feedback. I apologize for our guide maybe keeping up the pace a little too much, but we do want to ensure that we can see as much of the site as possible in the given amount of time. Thanks for your understanding.
star-5
Excellent guide and trip
Hazel_M
, May 2022
The tour guide Jake was excellent,very informative, he was a mind of knowledge. Very interesting trip, he took us on the train and bus and nothing was any bother to him. I would highly recommend this trip.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you Hazel for your honest comments on our Dachau Tour. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to have you back at Radius Tours next time again!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Hein was an excellent...
Mary_K
, May 2022
Hein was an excellent tour guide. He shared so much of his knowledge with us and provided so much background information that he gave us a clear understanding of what happened over the years in Dachau. I highly recommend you ask for Hein if you take this tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Mary, thanks for the review! We are glad to read you found our guide Hein to be so knowledgeable. Thanks for putting your trust in Radius Tours for your trip to the Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site.
star-4
Great trip to historic Dachau
bpitche1
, May 2022
Marc was a great tour guide. Very informative. Only suggestion would be to have more free time to explore more of the museum or other buildings. Only had 5-10 minutes before having to get back on the bus. Overall would recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the review and the feedback. We are glad you had a great time with our guide Marc. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-1
Terrible communication
yw7rkmfcvz
, May 2022
I was unaware of where to meet for you your, I contacted the company who didn’t get back to me until after my scheduled tour. I ended up doing the tour on my own, I asked for a refund but would rather insult and scold then understand and offer any sort of compensation. I would not use the company again nor should you
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Christie, on the voucher you received, there is a clear description of our tour departing from our office in Munich. There sadly is not much we are able to do if you go to a location that is 15+ miles away from our meeting point and then expect us to help solve it. I am sorry that you did not receive the experience you paid for, but we are not able to issue a refund if a situation like this occures.
star-5
A good lesson
Kelly_S
, May 2022
Scott was very knowledgeable and fun as our guide. He made the tour enjoyable and memorable for everyone in our group.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the review Kelly. We are glad to read Scott made the tour enjoyable and memorable for you all. Thanks for putting your trust in Radius Tours.
star-5
Highly Recommended!
Joshua_L
, May 2022
Matt was a fantastic tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and great with the group. Dachau was a very impactful experience and I would highly recommend it. Matt was a wealth of knowledge when it came to the history.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Joshua, thanks for the feedback. We are glad to read you felt Matt was a fantastic guide. Thanky ou for choosing Radous Tours for your Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour
star-4
Insightful visit to Dachau
Christina_B
, May 2022
Thank you Achim for an insightful visit. Achim was very knowledgeable and gave us a good understanding of Dachau’s history.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the nice review. We are glad to read you were given a good understanding of Dachau's history from our guid Achim. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-4
Worth it - Yep!
Daniel_G
, May 2022
Booked this last second and was not disappointed. Overall - I am glad I did this tour as I learned a lot about the dark history of Dachau. I liked that the train/bus was taken care of. We had a large group of about 20-30 people and although it was large, Craig (out guide), did a good job of speaking up for the most part. Understandably so, he got a bit annoyed with someone who was filming him. I wish we had a little more time to explore on our own instead of just facts. Was it worth the money? I think so. PS: Craig said this both before and during the tour - respect the gravity of the place and don't take selfies in inappropriate places.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for the review Daniel. Glad you felt the tour with our guide Craig was worth it. Thanks for choosing Radius Tours.
star-5
Insightful and moving trip
Kelly_S
, May 2022
Keith was a brilliant tour guide with amazing knowledge and the fact that he had nearly completed 1000 tours of Dachau says it all. Very insightful and moving trip would highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks for your feedback Kelly. Glad to read you had a nice time with our guide Kieth. Thanks for putting your trust in Radius Tours.
star-5
Emotional
Kristina_K
, May 2022
It was unbelievable the emotions that we had. Our tour guide was amazing! Very knowledgeable and gave an excellent tour.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Kristina for your review of our Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour. We are glad to read you found such value in the experience. Thanks for putting your trust in Radius Tours.
star-5
We loved it, so easy to...
Hannah_B
, May 2022
We loved it, so easy to sign up, you get on the train and then a bus to the sight and it was really nice, so glad we took this trip with the guide, learned soo much
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you Hannah! Thanks for choosing Radus Tours for your Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour
star-4
April.25
Jono_G
, Apr 2022
This was a very important and necessary experience to have after a fun weekend in Munich. It was informative and I enjoyed talking to the people in my group. The guide provided some insightful info but the only negative was he felt the need to throw in a couple unnecessary political comments as well. Would suggest doing this experience if you've never visited a concentration camp memorial.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thanks Jono for your honest feedback on our Dachau Tour! We will forward it to our guide, we agree that political comments should not be dealt on a tour of this subject.
star-5
Informative about a dark chapter of human history, great tour guide
WaiKan_C
, Apr 2022
Very informative about a dark chapter of human history. The tour guide was wonderful and knowledgable and provided a lot of historical contexts. Will recommend.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
We highly appreciate the recommendations. We wish you safe further travels!
star-5
Moving and knowledgeable
Rebecca_B
, Apr 2022
Our guide Keith was so knowledgeable and we left knowing so much more. It was a moving tour. Would recommend everyone tours this camp so history never repeats itself.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Thank you very much Rebecca for your review on our Dachau Tour, lead by our guide Keith. Thanks also so much for putting your trust in Radius Tours.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train
Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site Tour from Munich by Train

star-4.52785

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$38.19

star-5301

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$54.55

star-5215

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$32.73

star-4.5293

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$58.92

star-598

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.74

star-5252

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$38.19

star-5200

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$37.10

star-56

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.28

Explore Similar Things to Do