Recent Searches
Clear

Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Thunderbolt, United States
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors11 Seniors12 Seniors13 Seniors14 Seniors15 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Experience the haunting beauty and historic folklore of stunning Savannah on this Bonaventure Cemetery tour. Follow your expert guide just beyond the limits of the historic district and join a master storyteller as you wander through the tombstones and gardens of this top attraction. Learn why Bonaventure Cemetery is considered by locals to be the place where death and beauty meet. 
  • Guided Bonaventure Cemetery tour in Savannah
  • Learn about history and local folklore from a master storyteller
  • Get an up close look at one of Savannah's top attractions
  • Ideal for history lovers
Saved to wishlist!
Professional art historian guide
Professional guide
Gratuities
415 Bonaventure Rd , 415 Bonaventure Rd, Thunderbolt, GA 31404, USA

Guests meet at our Bonaventure Cemetery Tours® Welcome Center & Gift Shop about a half-block from the entrance of the Cemetery. Do Not go directly to Cemetery. We have parking available for our guests, as well as private restrooms. Plan to arrive 15 minutes prior to tour time. Service Animals ONLY.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • Umbrellas and Rain Ponchos available upon request
  • Walking cane/sport seating is available upon request
  • Wheelchair accessible - some sand and gravel
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Jones Street Productions Inc
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Bonaventure Cemetery Tours?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Bonaventure Cemetery Tours.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Bonaventure Cemetery Tours?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Bonaventure Cemetery Tours.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

5.0
star-5
548 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 548 reviews
star-2
Too hot, too long. Really...
Luann_N
, May 2022
Too hot, too long. Really only enjoyed it for about 45 minutes, then ready to quit. Disappointed that cemetery wasn’t better manicured. Expected more flowers too
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hi Luann, I'm really disappointed that you didn't fully enjoy the tour experience we provide. Agreed, we have had some really hot days already this season, and we do our best to provide complimentary hand fans for our guests and cold drinks are for sale prior to the tour. Umbrellas are also helpful in keeping the sun off when we are unable to keep you in the shade due to prior year's hurricanes thinning the beautiful canopy of trees. So, between Mother Nature and the groundskeepers, we would have to disagree with the manicure :) Also, some plots are not allowed to be trimmed, depending on the family. For flowers, March and April and really the show-stopper months with the azaleas, as with anywhere, you just have to catch the right season. I really hope you reconsider the rating given us, as you are grading our tour based on things beyond our control. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Savannah and that we see you again soon on one of our many adventures.
star-5
Walking thru history
Mary_H
, May 2022
Richard did a wonderful job. He was knowledgeable and interesting. A pleasant way to spend an afternoon.
star-4
Worth doing g!
ToniLindsey_N
, Apr 2022
Started a bot slow, then became very interesting full of fun facts and information. At the end of our tour we were very happy with our guide and all that we learned.
star-5
Wonderful experience.
Vincent_C
, Apr 2022
The guide was excellent, the stories terrific. The sights were amazing. We enjoyed it greatly. The tour was completed in an expedient fashion.
star-3
Good and bad
Kimberly_S
, Apr 2022
Some of the amazing head stones and what some of the designs mean. But, would have loved to seen more headstones about other people instead of writers.
star-4
Death march through the cemetery
Artemis_S
, Apr 2022
Our tour guide did a great job! The stories were our favorite part. 90 minutes would have been enough time in the heat and humidity. 90 minutes from leaving the gift shop to arriving back at the gift shop. We had a bus to catch and missed it by 5 or 10 minutes. One couple dropped out and people were getting tired in the humidity.
star-3
Cxxxx
Susan_M
, Apr 2022
Not enough history Guide was nice but not particularly knowledgeable Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx Cxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxccc Cccvvvvbbhfftjkjgffcv
star-5
Tour
Sharona_S
, Apr 2022
Chris was great. Very interesting tour w great info! I would recommend this tour But be mindful of weather. It can get very hot I. Summer months and there’s a lot of walking
star-5
Great!
Jason_B
, Apr 2022
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered whatever questions we had. We especially loved his personal connection to the cemetery.
star-5
Great time in Bonaventure
Rhoda_B
, Apr 2022
Richard did such a great job telling the stories of the cemetery. We really enjoyed the info regarding the history as well as the plant life of the area.
star-5
Dawn is extremely...
Pamela_J
, Apr 2022
Dawn is extremely knowledgeable and proud of her southern roots. She is an excellent story teller - I bet her ghost tours would spook anyone!
star-5
Beautiful Bonaventure
John_B
, Apr 2022
Learning about the funeral and burial practices of families of the 1800’s ; the unique history of the cemetery; the death bell stories; the guide singing a medley of Johnny Mercer’s songs at his grave!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Top notch tour
Monrez_M
, Mar 2022
Our tour guide Dawn was awesome, full of energy and info! I would highly reccommend the tour and Dawn as your guide!
star-5
Great time
Chuck_P
, Mar 2022
Had a great visit and learned a lot about the symbolism of not only Bonaventure but all graveyards. Had a good time
star-5
History, ghosts and funerals
Lynne_K
, Mar 2022
Learning about the symbols on the gravestones and how the many sayings came about from burying people alive!
star-5
Super amazing!
Barbara_N
, Mar 2022
Our tour guide was amazing! He was very knowledgeable, witty, and allow the crowd to interact. The history was rich and very knowledgeable. This is a must when visiting beautiful Savannah!
star-5
Charming guide,charming place
jeanette_s
, Mar 2022
Dawn is an excellent guide Combining information and entertainment in a charming and personal way.Managed a large group well
star-5
Richard was an incredible...
Danyel_S
, Mar 2022
Richard was an incredible tour guide! He was extremely knowledgeable. We purposely booked a tour on a rainy day and it added to the ambiance. Would highly recommend!!!
star-5
Stories very interesting....
Jenny_B
, Mar 2022
Stories very interesting. Grave site of Conrad Aiken, the Grimm plot and story and the gateway to heaven.
star-5
Excellent tour!!!
allag1969
, Feb 2022
Our tour guide, Dawn, was very entertaining. She had a ton of knowledge and was able to present the information in a way that kept all participants focused.

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours
Bonaventure Cemetery Tours

star-5548

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-4.544

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$24.99

star-5138

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$59.00

star-5664

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$25.65

star-5542

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$30.00

star-556

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-572

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$29.75

star-5133

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.42

star-56

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$76.93

Explore Similar Things to Do